WHO ARE WE?

Rotopol is a publishing house for graphic storytelling touching upon the borders of what illustration and comic art can accomplish. Our range of products lets the reader discover books produced in high quality as well as artists with personal styles and stories.

In 2007 we our headquarter in Kassel. This is from where we collaborate with in international network of graphic artists and designers. Next to our office you can find our studio space, our silk screen printing workshop, and our gallery for contemporary illustration which hosts varying exhibitions year-round. In the attached store we are displaying our comics and illustration books, high-quality art prints, paper toys, postcards, hand-made sketch books, and printed textiles. All in all, we look at Rotopol as a platform that brings together the creative potential around us, developing it and making it visible in multiple ways.

WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF ROTOPOL?

Rotopol was founded by illustrators Rita Fürstenau, Lisa Röper and Micheal Meier, while they were still studying at the School of Arts and Design Kassel. Today the publisher is run by Rita Fürstenau and illustrator Carmen José. Initially, it was the goal to create a possibility to publish own works and the works of fellow young illustrators, while being able to make all the creative decisions involved by ourselves. We created our own working conditions and wanted to continue the same way after our graduation: self determined and in a position to exchange creative ideas with our peers; on a high creative level and independent from short-lived market trends. Ignoring Berlin’s excited call, we stayed in Kassel, in the “Vorderer Westen” area, where the creative bustling has been increasing in the last few years – even outside the documenta season. Picking up some allies, we developed the first Rotopol idea into a fully grown independent publishing house.

rotopolpress_buecher

WHAT IS IMPORTANT TO US?

At Rotopol we offer illustrators, comic artists and designers the opportunity to implement unconventional contents and visual ideas. We are interested in strong personal styles, experimental ways of storytelling and curious narrations. When we pick up a book, we want to be surprised. For us, it is all about projects that you want to read again and again, always discovering something new. The editing and production process is done in close cooperation with the artists, and we are working hard to find a matching format and layout for every piece. And since some ideas do not fit between two book covers, we make more from paper than just beautiful books: epically opening fanfolds, high quality art prints in limited editions, and craft games that require even adults to apply a lot of tactical sense.

It is particularly important to us that the production process of our books and products is executed as close and controlled as possible. Especially with unusual formats and small editions, we like to work with local printers and work integration social enterprises. When it comes to materials, we love to work with natural, uncoated paper and forms of bookbinding that ensure a long life period for our books. Art and textile prints are produced in our own studio or silk screen printing workshop.

rotopol_leute

WER SIND WIR?

Rotopol ist ein Verlag für grafisches Erzählen, der die Grenzen dessen abtastet, was Illustration und Comic leisten können. Unser Verlagsprogramm lässt den Leser hochwertig hergestellte Bücher und spannende Künstler mit persönlichen Zeichen- und Erzählstilen entdecken.

2007 haben wir unser Hauptquartier in Kassel aufgeschlagen, von dem aus wir mit einem internationalen Netzwerk von Zeichnern und Designern zusammenarbeiten. Hier befindet sich neben einem an das Verlagsbüro angeschlossenen Atelier und einer Siebdruck-Werkstatt auch unsere Galerie für zeitgenössische Illustration, in der wir das ganze Jahr wechselnde Ausstellungen präsentieren. Die Räumlichkeiten beherbergen außerdem ein Ladengeschäft, in dem unser Verlagsprogramm, das neben Comics und Illustrationsbüchern auch Kunstdrucke, Postkarten, Papierspiele, handgefertigte Skizzenhefte und bedruckte Textilien umfasst, ausliegt. Wir verstehen Rotopol vor allem als Plattform, um das kreative Potential um uns herum zusammenzuführen, weiterzuentwickeln und auf viele Arten sichtbar zu machen.

WARUM GIBT ES ROTOPOL?

Rotopol wurde von den Illustratoren Rita Fürstenau, Lisa Röper und Michael Meier noch während ihres Studiums an der Kunsthochschule Kassel gegründet und wird heute von Rita Fürstenau und der Illustratorin Carmen José geleitet. Das Ziel war es zunächst, eine Publikationsmöglichkeit für eigene Arbeiten und für die von anderen jungen Illustratoren zu schaffen und dabei alle gestalterischen Entscheidungen selbst treffen zu können. Wir haben uns unsere Arbeitsbedingungen selbst geschaffen und wollten auch nach dem Studium genau so weitermachen: selbstbestimmt und im produktiven Austausch mit Gleichgesinnten, auf einem hohen kreativen Niveau und unabhängig von kurzlebigen Markttrends. Dabei überhörten wir den aufgeregten Ruf aus Berlin und sind in Kassel geblieben, im Vorderen Westen, wo es in den letzten Jahren auch außerhalb der documenta-Saison immer belebter zugeht. Wir haben Verbündete gefunden und aus der ersten Rotopol-Idee einen ausgewachsenen Independent-Verlag gemacht.

rotopolpress_buecher

WAS IST UNS WICHTIG?

Bei Rotopol ermöglichen wir es Illustratoren, Comiczeichnern und Designern auch unkonventionelle Inhalte und visuelle Ideen zu realisieren. Uns interessieren starke eigene Handschriften, experimentelle Erzählstile und eigensinnige Geschichten. Wenn wir ein Buch in die Hand nehmen, wollen wir überrascht werden. Es geht uns um Projekte, die man gleich ein zweites Mal lesen und ansehen möchte – und dann wieder etwas Neues entdeckt. Im Lektorat und der Herstellung arbeiten wir eng mit den Künstlern zusammen und finden für jede Arbeit das passende Format und Layout. Und weil manche Ideen eben nicht zwischen zwei Buchklappen passen, machen wir aus Papier auch mehr als schöne Bücher: sich episch auffaltende Leporellos, hochwertige Kunstdrucke in limitierten Auflagen und Bastelspiele, die auch von Erwachsenen kreatives Fingerspitzengefühl fordern.

Bei der Herstellung unserer Bücher und Produkte ist es uns besonders wichtig, den Produktionsprozess so nah und kontrolliert wie möglich zu gestalten. Vor allem bei ungewöhnlichen Formaten und kleineren Auflagen arbeiten wir mit lokalen Druckereien und Integrationsbetrieben zusammen. Am liebsten arbeiten wir mit Naturpapieren und Bindeformen, die eine lange Haltbarkeit unserer Bücher sicherstellen. Kunst- und Textildrucke fertigen wir in unserem Atelier oder in unserer Siebdruckwerkstatt selbst an.

rotopol_leute