Ten days before the beginning of the Second World War in Russia, a five-member family is awakened at night and sent away from home without any explanation. We follow them on their way to the strange place where they will live from now on. “Vasja, Dein Opa” is a story like millions of other stories in the Soviet Union, where almost every second family has personally experienced what gulag and exile mean.

This impressive documentary graphic novel tells the story of Vasja, the grandfather of the author Anna Rakhmanko. It is based on an interview with his little sister Lyubov, with whom he travelled as a child from former Romania (Bukovina) to the distant Arctic Circle region of the Soviet Union, where both had to live with the label “enemy” for many years. For the interview, journalist Anna Rakhmanko traveled to the far north of Russia to talk to Lyubov, the only remaining member of her exiled family, about why her family ended up living so remotely in the middle of nowhere in Siberia. Her words are accompanied by the light and, at the same time, atmospherically dense drawings of her husband, the Danish comic artist Mikkel Sommer.

A part of the proceeds from the book sale will go to support “The Last Address” organization in Russia, which works to raise awareness about those oppressed during the Soviet era (for more information: www.poslednyadres.ru).

Release Date: April 2021
Preorder Special: The first 50 orders of this book will come with a small surprise!

Zehn Tage vor Beginn des Zweiten Weltkrieges in Russland wird eine fünfköpfige Familie nachts aufgeweckt und ohne Worte in die Ferne geschickt. Wir folgen ihnen auf ihrem Weg und an jenen fremden Ort, an dem sie fort-an leben werden. „Vasja, dein Opa” ist eine Geschichte wie Millionen anderer Geschichten in der Sowjetunion, wo fast jede zweite Familie persönlich erfahren hat, was Gulag und Exil bedeuten.

Diese eindrucksvolle dokumentarische Graphic Novel erzählt die Geschichte von Vasja, dem Großvater der Autorin Anna Rakhmanko. Sie basiert auf einem Interview mit seiner kleinen Schwester Ljubov, mit der er als Kind den ganzen Weg vom ehemaligen Rumänien (Bukowina) bis in die ferne Polarkreisregion der Sowjetunion gegangen ist, wo beide viele Jahre lang mit dem Etikett „Feind” leben mussten. Für das Gespräch reiste die Journalistin Anna Rakhmanko in den hohen Norden Russlands um mit der Schwester ihres Großvaters, dem einzigen noch le-benden Mitglied ihrer Exil-Familie, darüber zu sprechen, warum ihre Familie am Ende so abgelegen mitten im Nirgendwo in Sibirien lebte. Begleitet werden ihre Worte von den leichten und gleichsam atmosphärisch dichten Zeichnungen ihres Ehemanns, dem dänischen Comiczeichner Mikkel Sommer.

Ein Teil des Erlöses aus dem Buchverkauf geht zur Unterstützung an die Organisation „The last address” in Russland, die daran arbeitet, das Bewusstsein über die Unterdrückten in der Sowjetzeit zu schärfen (für weitere Informationen: www.poslednyadres.ru).

Erscheint im April 2021
Preorder Special: Die ersten 50 Kunden, die ein Exemplar dieses Buchs bestellen, erhalten als Geschenk eine kleine Überraschung!